5 Minutes With: Grace King

Grace is a Novel writer based in Leeds with her first novel coming together, read on to learn more…

Tell us a little bit about yourself and your Book:

I am currently a bartender at Browns in Leeds. I am writing a novel in my spare time and it’s about a girl being raised by repressive parents in an era where witchcraft is strongly believed and the church calls it an illness and a sin. There are aspects of magic about the girl and it’s about her struggle to understand whether she is as crazy as they say or whether there is some truth behind the magic she sees.

trdhfd.png

Take us through your process:

I would say I studied, planned characters and plot points and then wrote freely. But then I rewrote it and analysed it too many times that it became unreadable. So when I finished my book I used it as an information guide and split it in two so that there were two books and each had a simpler story line. I then started from scratch. It now breathes new life and reads easier. So my process was definitely trial and error.

Where do you do your work?

I work wherever I can usually at home where I can listen to music too, or in the bath. The bath is my favourite workplace.

4536.png

How do you create the characters?

Most of the time the character’s in my book are based on people I’ve known for literally two weeks and I turn them into someone else. Some I base on the actors I imagine playing them haha, and rarely its someone very close to me. I try and steer clear of basing it on anything personal; its got to be very distant from my life.

What is the one thing you always make time for?

I always make time for holidays/special occasions e.g. birthdays, mother’s day, Halloween. I live for these because each one explores a different aspect of life to celebrate.

What brings you joy in your day to day life? 

In my day to day life it’s spending time with friends that you can be weirdly funny around, songs that remind me of my family, and being around things that trigger my imagination e.g. misty woods, architecture at night, music, and people’s strange stories.

Who/what inspires you as a writer?

What mainly inspires me is a piece of work by a fellow writer, whether I’ve read it or watched it being played out that makes me start to obsess about it haha. it makes me want to get absorbed in my own work and create something that will be never-ending in your heart and imagination. For my first book it was mother Shipton’s cave and rita rogers book: soulmates that inspired my story. Works like pride and prejudice that have stood the test of time. Examples are (I’m going to giveaway how much I fan girl here) couples dynamics on TV programmes such as klaus and caroline from the vampire diaries, and Hanna and Caleb from pretty little liars.

Is there any particular element of your book that you’re most proud of?

I am so proud that I have learned how to understand my character’s as if they are real people and differentiate between me talking and them. that was the hardest part.

What is the name of the book?

I’m still working on the names but I’m playing with the name caped or veiled.

Have you any tips for people aspiring to be a writer?

If it writes easily then it reads easily. Definitely get people to read it as early on and you can for feedback.

Would you like to be featured in one of Louise’s “5 Minutes With” Blog Posts? Please email Louise at: louisethompsonphotography@yahoo.com for more info. www.louisethompsonphotography.com
